Ichiro under the Christmas Tree

Nattering Naybob: Don’t worry about doing any last-minute shopping to get me a Christmas gift, Red Ranger. I got my gift this past week courtesy of Brian Cashman and the Bronx Family Steinbrenner when the Yankees broke their vow to sign free agents exclusively to 1-year contracts, and brought back Ichiro Suzuki to the Yankees for a 2-year contract that, barring injury, will see Ichiro get his 3,000th major league hit as a Yankee. I admit that I was never much of an Ichiro fan previously, but my mind was changed when he came over to the Yankees last year in mid-season. His work ethic and professionalism really impressed me, and word is that he and Derek Jeter struck up a fast friendship. If you get the Derek Jeter stamp of approval, that’s good enough for me.

Here is the classy statement Ichiro put out after news that the final details had been worked out and he was officially back with the Yankees:

“The Yankees are the kind of team that I always envisioned being a part of. Everyone in the world of competition has a strong desire to win, but the Yankees also have an atmosphere where losing is not an option. These two observations may sound similar, but I believe it is a rarity to find both coexisting in the same organization. I believe the Yankees organization appreciates that there is a difference between a 39-year-old who has played relying only on talent, and a 39-year-old who has prepared, practiced, and thought thoroughly through many experiences for their craft. I am very thankful, and I will do my best to deliver on their expectations.”

Check out this You Tube video of a very young-looking Ichiro actually pitching the final inning of the 1996 Japan League All-Star Game. The man can do it all. And notice that our old friend Hideki Matsui makes a cameo appearance….

Leave a comment