I Dream of J.D. With the Unpublished Books

Nattering Naybob: First, my apologies to Stephen Foster about the title of this post. The Red Ranger, I know you are not much of a reader (not that there’s anything wrong with that necessarily), but you may have heard about a new documentary and companion biography that are being released next week about the near-mythic author J.D. Salinger, whose “Catcher In the Rye” is considered by many to be the quintessential story of 20th century teen angst and disillusionment (other than your own real-life experiences in these areas, Red Ranger).

Salinger was probably as famous for his self-imposed withdrawal from public life in the mid-Sixties, as he was for his actual body of work. During this period of seclusion he did not publish any new material whatsoever, despite rumors that he still was in fact secretly writing, with the intention of this work being published only after his death.

He died in January 2010. In the 3-1/2 years since then there has been no indication whatsoever of any such “hidden treasure” of new material, and Salinger fans such as myself had pretty much given up hope that this would ever happen.

However a story in the New York Times (and other media outlets) over the weekend reports that the upcoming book and documentary will reveal that Salinger did indeed finish at least five major works during his seclusion and has left specific publication instructions for their gradual release, starting in 2015. Some of the books’ titles have even been leaked (one such title is purportedly “The Last and Best of the Peter Pans”.)

Just as last year I considered the Yankees’ re-signing of Ichiro Suzuki as the Christmas present you no longer had to buy for me, Red Ranger, consider this spine-tingling announcement as a similar reprieve from your having to purchase a gift for me this coming Christmas. That alone should turn you into a Salinger fan.

The Red Ranger: I am glad to hear that I do not need to buy you a holiday (I want to be PC in keeping with the paradigm of your ilk) present again this year.  My guess is these books will be published and then there will be some battle amongst his heirs for the proceeds.

I am anxiously awaiting the release of some as yet unfound writings of my favorite author, Dr. Seuss.

Nattering Naybob: Thank you, Red Ranger, I’ve always wanted to be part of an “ilk”.

 

Leave a comment